Skip to content Skip to navigation menu

National Chef of the Year 2017

Posted on Thursday 25 August 2016

Lockhart Catering proudly sponsor The National Chef of the Year, helping to establish the careers of chef's since 1972...

About 2017's Competition

The National Chef of the Year was established in 1972 and winning has helped establish the careers of its winners which include Gordon Ramsay, David Everitt-Matthias, Mark Sargeant, Steve Love, Simon Hulstone and Hrishikesh Desai.

National Chef of the Year 2015, Russell Bateman secured the title on his third attempt on Tuesday October 7, 2014, stating: “It’s a huge honour to win National Chef of the Year. It’s amazing to think my name has been added to that list of wonderful past winners. To be recognised by the fantastic line up of judges was a massive boost for me personally. I look forward to seeing the competition go from strength to strength.”

This year, the esteemed panel of judges will be chaired by Clare Smyth, chef patron at the three Michelin starred Restaurant Gordon Ramsay. Clare was among a ‘superchef’ line-up of judges at the October final which included the then chair Phil Howard, Brett Graham, Bruce Poole, Jason Atherton, Marcus Wareing, Monica Galletti and Tom Kerridge.

This year, the brief is to create an innovative menu for two people. Here's what David Mulcahy has to say about the task:

"The brief was put together to really focus on chefs’ skills. There’s so much talk in our industry about lack of skills and National Chef of the Year aims to put a chef’s culinary skills to the ultimate test. Talent is required to produce an amazing risotto (it must be a classic rice dish). Chicken, when done well can demonstrate a chef’s depth of knowledge and ability to balance flavours and textures, whilst a choux pastry dessert will challenge some chefs, especially in an unfamiliar kitchen."

Good Luck to all the Entrants!

2017's Finalists

Danny Parker, Head Chef at House of Tides in Newcastle
Martin Carabott, Senior Sous Chef at The Royal Automobile Club
Adam Thomason, Head Chef at Restaurant Associates
Charles Smith, Head Chef at Alyn Williams at The Westbury
Liam McKenna, Head Chef at Trump International
James Devine, Sous Chef at EIPIC
Paul Foster, Chef Patron of Salt
Stephanie Coupland, Chef de Partie at Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Luciano Lucioli, Head Chef at Lusso CH&Co
Kamil Wierzbowski, Sous Chef at Petrus Restaurant, Gordon Ramsay

Larry Jayasakera - National Chef of the Year 2016

2017's Schedule

14th June 2016 - The first semi-final held at Sheffield College.

22nd June 2016 - The second semi-final held at Le Cordon Bleu, London.

4th October 2016 - The final 10 competitors will battle it out in the final at The Restaurant Show, Olympia.

Follow Us On Social Media




@Larrychef1 (2016's NCOTY Winner)

@DannyJHoang (2016's YNCOTY Winner)